Committees & Task Forces

SOBA operates under a committee and task force concept, involving the board, SOBA members and boating experts to accomplish its goals and objectives.


Chair: Trey Cooksey, Texas
The committee promotes and coordinates the SOBA Awards Program, including the Congressional Award, Access Awards, Program Awards, Project Awards and individual awards.

Board Nominations

Chair: Janine Belleque, Oregon

Boating Infrastructure Grant Best Management Practices Taskforce

Chair: Lorene Reid, Georgia

Design Handbook Guidelines

Chair: Trey Cooksey, Texas

Dues Structure and Conference Fees

The  committee reviews SOBA's current fee structures and make appropriate recommendations for adjustments.

Membership Outreach

Chair: Preston Smith, Virginia

Policies and Procedures Manual

Sportfish Restoration and Boating Trust Fund Reauthorization

This committee monitors and participates on behalf of SOBA in the course of the 2021 Sportfish Restoration and Boating Trust Fund Reauthorization. 


Chair: Chris French, Ohio